Neha Thapa from Kokrajhar district has been declared the winner of the contest for State Youth Parliament, Assam while Debashis Saha from Golaghat district and Pratik Parmey from Kamrup Metro have been adjudged as second and third runners-up, respectively.

Announcing this, Sayed Ali, state director of the Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan, Assam, said the State Youth Parliament was held on January 3, 2021, through virtual mode.

The parliament was participated by 60 youths from 33 districts of Assam.

The results were declared as per the judgment by a 3-member jury.

Now, the participants will get the opportunity to fly to New Delhi by Air India.

“Ticket must be purchased from the Air India website or IRCTC so that reimbursement of travelling expenditure may be reimbursed smoothly on spot at New Delhi,” the state director of Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan (NYKS), Assam stated.

There are other formalities that will be shared with the winners through email and WhatsApp to finalize their documents, the NYKS, Assam director stated.

The winners have been instructed to confirm their participation in the national youth parliament through email at

The winner of the state-level parliament will be given the chance to speak at the central hall of the Parliament while the 2nd and 3rd runner-up will get the chance to participate in this parliament.

The main aim of organizing this parliament is to make the youth realize about various social issues in the country.

The ministry of youth welfare and sports will hold the national youth parliament on January 13 at the central hall in Parliament House.

Rinoy Basumatary

Rinoy Basumatary is Northeast Now Correspondent in Kokrajhar. He can be reached at: