The NTPC Bongaigaon Quality Circle team, ‘Black Treasure’, won the first prize at the 11th ER-II Regional Quality Circle Convention 2020 held at NTPC Bongaigaon.

Due to the Covid19 situation, the entire convention was held online.

The members of the NTPC Bongaigaon Quality Circle’s ‘Black Treasure’ team are Sudem Owary, Rajib Narzary, Tapas Banerjee, Bijen Brahma and Palash Bargayary.

The Quality Circle team, Samasya Solvers, of the NTPC Talcher Thermal Unit, emerged as the first runners-up.

The members of the runners-up team are Prabhas Chandra Jha, Kamakshya Prasad Rath, Soumendu Roy Chowdhury and Bishikeshana Joshi.

The Quality Circle team ‘Chemspirit’ of NTPC, Talcher Super Thermal Power Station, was adjudged as the 2nd runners-up team.

The team members are Jyoti Prakasha Panda, S.C. Pradhan, B.B. Sahoo, Rusav Roul, D R Ray, P.N. Sahoo and Manash Ranjan Sahoo.

The convention was inaugurated by A.K. Pandey, regional executive director (ER-II and WR-I Hqs) in presence of Subrata Mandal, CGM, NTPC Bongaigaon and Business Unit heads of ER-II stations.

Speaking on the occasion, A.K. Pandey spoke on how the concept of quality circles in NTPC has improved the overall productivity and efficiency of power stations on various topics.

The winning team will represent NTPC at the National Quality Circle Convention.

A total of nine teams participated in the convention.

The convention was judged by Ramakanta Panda, GM (Maintenance) and Umesh Singh GM (FM) of NTPC Bongaigaon and Prasenjit Biswas (Joint Secretary QCFI Durgapur).

Rinoy Basumatary

Rinoy Basumatary is Northeast Now Correspondent in Kokrajhar. He can be reached at: