As expected Lurinjyto Gogoi resigned as the general secretary of the All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) during the ongoing conference of the union at Duliajan.

Gogoi is all set to join the newly-formed regional political party, Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP), which has been backed by AASU and Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuba Chatra Parishad (AJYCP).

AASU chief adviser Samujjal Bhattacharyya also announced that he would quit the students’ union.

Bhattacharyya on Friday got teary-eyed when AASU workers requested him not to step down.

AASU president Dipanka Nath is also likely to quit the union to join AJP.

With the resignation of the AASU president and general secretary, new members will take the charge of the union’s leadership during the Duliajan conference.

Lurinjyoti Gogoi, who became a face of the anti-CAA protests in Assam, announced his resignation from AASU after an emotional speech at the conference.

AJP was formed in September with an announcement to fight the State Assembly polls in 2021.

According to reports, Lurinjyoti Gogoi is likely to contest the Assembly elections next year on an AJP ticket from the Duliajan constituency.

Around 8,000 AASU delegates from across Assam have participated in the Duliajan conference.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: