Akhil Gogoi
Akhil Gogoi taking oath as an MLA in Assam Assembly on Friday.

Akhil Gogoi, a ‘jailed’ activist, who was elected to the 126-member Assam Legislative Assembly from Sivasagar constituency, took oath as an MLA on Friday.

The newly-elected MLAs were administered oath of office and secrecy on the first day of the Assam Assembly session at Dispur after the formation of the new government.

Akhil Gogoi won the Sivasagar seat in the Assam Assembly elections 2021 by defeating his nearest rival from the BJP.

Gogoi is the president of Raijor Dal, a newly-floated regional political party, backed by farmers’ organisation Krishak Mukti Sangram Samit (KMSS).

Also read: Assam: NIA Court grants permission to Sivasagar MLA Akhil Gogoi to take oath in Assembly

A Special NIA Court on May 11 granted permission to Akhil Gogoi to take oath as a legislator in the Assam Assembly.

He was taken to the Assam Assembly directly from Gauhati Medical College Hospital (GMCH) amid tight security.
Gogoi has been languishing in jail since December 2019 on charges of sedition and inciting violence during protests against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) in Assam.

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021 Results Update: Sonowal, Himanta, Raijor Dal president Akhil Gogoi, Ranjeet Dass among big winners

Akhil Gogoi was taken to the Assembly on a city bus directly from GMCH.

On the way to the Assembly, Gogoi alleged that he was pushed by the security personnel on being taken to the Assam Assembly.

He termed the act as “disrespect” towards an elected member of the Assembly.

Gogoi said, “If the government can act against an MLA, what would happen to the common people of the state?”

He also said, “The government can kill me but can’t stop my voice.”

Gogoi vowed to work for the development of the Sivasagar constituency.

The MLAs took oath in presence of Assam Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi, pro-tem Speaker Phanibhushan Choudhury and chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Earlier, the members of the new Assam Cabinet including chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and 13 ministers took oath on May 10, 2021 at Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra in four different languages.

They took oath in Assamese, Bodo, Bengali and English languages.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in