The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has constituted a committee to explore Constitutional and Legal ways to grant Scheduled Tribes (ST) status to six (6) ethnic communities and tea tribes communities in Assam.

This was informed by AICC General Secretary and Assam Congress in-charge – Jitendra Singh Alwar.

“I am happy to constitute a committee, which shall explore Constitutional and Legal ways to grant Scheduled Tribes (ST) status to Moran, Mattock, Sonowal, Tai Ahom, Sootea, Koch-Rajbongshi and the tea tribes communities, keeping the status and rights of existing ST communities,” Jitendra Singh Alwar said.

The Committee will also look into the Constitutional and legal ways of granting Land Pattas to the tea tribe workers.

“Furthermore, the committee shall also explore the Constitutional and legal ways to grant Land Pattas to the Tea Tribe workers for the residential homes in the tea gardens, where they have been living for decades,” Jitendra Singh Alwar added.

Also read: Assam: Government ‘failed’ to grant ST status to 6 communities as high-level panel’s report gathers dust in New Delhi

The committee comprises of eight members headed by Debabrata Saikia.

The other members of the committee are: Durlav Chamua, Barnali Saikia Bora, Kartik Kurmi, Baojem Handique, Birinchi Neog, Pranab Barua, Shailendra Sonowal.

“The Committee has been asked to submit (its report) at the earliest,” Jitendra Singh Alwar said.

Also read: Highlights of Congress manifesto for Assam Assembly election 2021

“Congress has always stood for the rights and long-standing demands of tea tribes and other communities and shall continue to do so,” Jitendra Singh Alwar added.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: