BJP candidate Nabanita Handique with MP Topon Kumar Gogoi and party supporters in Sonari on Thursday.

The ruling BJP in Assam has retained three of the four assembly seats that went to bypolls on October 21.

Perfume baron Badruddin Ajmal-led All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) bagged one seat.

The Congress, principal opposition party of the state, drew blank.

While the BJP could manage to win Rangapara, Sonari and Ratabari assembly seats, the AIUDF candidate won the Jania seat in Barpeta district which was held by the Congress.

BJP’s Rajen Borthakur won the Rangapara seat by defeating Congress’ Kartik Kurmi over a margin of over 49,000 votes.

BJP candidate Rajen Borthakur with his supporters in Tezpur.

Nabanita Handique of the BJP won the Sonari seat defeating nearest Congress candidate Sushil Kumar Suri.

In Ratabari BJP’s Bijoy Malakar defeated his nearest rival Congress’ Keshab Prasad Rajak.

Malakar polled over 59 percent votes while Rajak could poll little over 38 per cent votes.

AIUDF’s Rafiqul Islam won the Jania seat by polling over 54 per cent votes while Congress candidate Shamsul Haque could poll only little over 30 per cent votes in the constituency.

BJP’s Towfiqur Rahman could poll only over ten percent votes in the constituency.

The bypolls were necessitated after the sitting legislators in the constituencies got elected to Lok Sabha earlier this year.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.