Political temperatures in Assam are once again on the rise following the announcement of date for holding of by-polls to the vacant Assembly seats in the state.

Political parties in Assam are going all-out to woo the voters of the five Assembly constituencies that go to by-polls on October 30.

Meanwhile, opposition party in Assam – the Raijor Dal – has announced that it will contest in two out of the five Assembly seats that go to by-polls.

This was announced by Raijor Dal president and Sivasagar MLA Akhil Gogoi while briefing the media on Wednesday in Guwahati.

Also read: Assam: Orang National Park to reopen for tourists today

Akhil Gogoi said that Raijor Dal will contest in Thowra and Mariani Assembly seats.

Gogoi exuded confidence that his party will secure victory in both the seats that it will contest.

Akhil Gogoi further announced his party’s candidate for Thowra seat. He added that the party is yet to finalise its candidate for the Mariani seat.

“Dhaijya Konwar will be Raijor Dal’s candidate for Thowra. We will announce our candidate for Mariani soon,” Akhil Gogoi said.

Notably, Congress had won both the seats of Thowra and Mariani in the Assembly elections held earlier this year. But both the MLAs has quit the party and stepped down as MLA.

Also read: Ex-Punjab CM Amrinder Singh to join BJP? Day after meeting Amit Shah, Captain meets NSA Ajit Doval

Akhil Gogoi has further appealed the Congress in Assam to ‘support’ the candidates announced by Raijor Dal in a bid to defeat “common enemy” – the BJP.

“If the Congress supports our candidates, we will also support their candidates in the seats that they are contesting,” Akhil Gogoi said.

By-polls to the seats of Thowra, Mariani, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur and Gossaigaon will be held on October 30.

Currently, the BJP has 59 MLAs, while its allies AGP has nine, and UPPL has five legislators.

Congress, on the other hand, has 27 MLAs, AIUDF 15, BPF three and CPI-M has one MLA in the 126-member Assam Assembly.

Akhil Gogoi is the lone MLA from the Raijor Dal party in the Assembly.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in