Assam Assembly Elections
Oboru Surakshya Samiti advisor Brojen mahanta addressing the media in Guwahati on Saturday

The Oboru Suraksha Samiti on Saturday appealed to the people the BJP out of power in the Assam Assembly elections.

The Oboru Suraksha Samiti has fielded candidates in the Tamulpur constituency in Baksa district, Gossaigaon constituency in Kokrajhar district and Chapaguri constituency in Baksa district in the Assam Assembly elections.

The party has fielded Dimbeswar Rabha in the Tamulpur constituency, Jyotish Kumar Das in Chapaguri constituency and Abdul Samad Choudhury.

Addressing the media in Guwahati, the Capital city of Assam, advisor of the Samiti, Brojen Mahanta said, “We have fielded our candidates in three assembly constituencies to root out the BJP.”

Also read: Assam Assembly elections: People want Congress back, says Ripun Bora

“We had said before the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) polls that the rights of the non-Bodo people will be violated if the UPPL comes to power in the Bodo Territorial Region. Now after the UPPL-GSP have come to power, they had issued notices to several SDO offices directing them to evict people living in forest areas and near water bodies in the region,” Mahanta said.

“We appeal to the public to vote the BJP-led state government out of power because if they come to power they will destroy Assam and take away the rights of the indigenous people,” he further said.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: