Giving a blow to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the ensuing Assam Assembly elections 2021, party’s state spokesperson and Bajali BJP president Phani Pathak resigned from the party on Saturday.

Phani Pathak, who was a strong contender for a party ticket to fight from the Patacharkuchi Assembly seat, resigned from the primary membership of the party on Saturday, after being denied ticket.

The party has fielded Assam BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass to fight from Patacharkuchi Assembly seat.

Ranjeet Kumar Dass, who is currently representing the Sarbhog Assembly constituency, has chosen Patacharkuchi seat fearing defeat in his home constituency.

After the announcement of the party ticket to Ranjeet Kumar Dass, BJP workers, who were in support of Phani Pathak, staged protest in front of the BJP office in Pathsala, the district headquarters of Bajali.

But Pathak and his supporters had to face criticism from the other leaders of Bajali BJP, who supported state BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass’ candidature.

Also read: Assam Assembly elections: Former deputy speaker Dilip Kumar Paul quits BJP, to contest as Independent  

Pathak, who joined the party in 2011, has sent his resignation letter to the state party chief.

He claimed that he has immense contributions to the development of the constituency but he has been “neglected” by the party despite his dedication towards the party.

BJP hopes it will be able to earn an easy win in Patacharkuchi seat as the BJP-led government has gifted Bajali the district status and the area now has a University – Bhattadev University.

Assam BJP chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass cannot claim credit for Bajali getting district status and a University. “But I have proofs that as the BJP president of Bajali, I had urged the state government to upgrade it to a district,” he said.

Sasanka Talukdar

Sasanka Talukdar is Northeast Now Correspondent in Pathsala. He can be reached at: