BJP has rushed heavyweight campaigners including Amit Shah, JP Nadda and Shivraj Singh Chauhan to campaign in constituencies (critical) in Upper and Central Assam.

On March 14, Union home minister Amit Shah will campaign for BJP’s Margherita candidate for the ensuing Assam Assembly elections 2021.

Sitting MLA Bhaskar Sarmah is allegedly involved in ‘coal syndicate’ in the coal-rich area of Margherita.

In the ensuing Assam Assembly elections, Sarmah is likely to face a tough fight from Congress candidate Manoranjan Borgohain.

On the same day, Amit Shah will campaign for Mayur Buragohain, the BJP candidate for Nazira constituency, where Debabrata Saikia, Opposition leader of Assam Legislative Assembly and son of former Assam chief minister Hiteswar Saikia.

The Nazira Assembly constituency, which is a stronghold of Congress, was represented by Hiteswar Saikia for 5 times, his wife Hemprova Saikia for 3 times and their son Debabrata Saikia won the seat in 2011 and 2016 Assembly elections.

On March 17, Amit Shah will again visit Assam to campaign for party’s Sadiya candidate Balin Chetia and Majuli candidate, Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal.

In the ensuing Assam Assembly elections, MLA Balin Chetia will have to give a strong fight against newly-floated regional party Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) convenor and former tourism minister (during AGP regime) Jagadish Bhuyan.

Jagadish Bhuyan and his party have been able to draw the attention of the people for their strong stand against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA).

BJP national president JP Nadda is scheduled to visit Assam on March 15.

He will campaign for party’s Barchala candidate Ganesh Limbu and Sootea candidate Padma Hazarika.

Nadda will also campaign for panchayat & rural development minister Naba Kumar Doley. Doley, who is known for corruption in his department, will face Congress candidate Padma Lochan Doley, a former Ganashakti Party leader.

On March 15, three-time Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan will campaign for party’s Naharkatia and Duliajan candidates.

BJP has fielded party candidate Tarang Gogoi for Naharkatia seat and Terosh Gowala for Duliajan seat.

The party wants Chauhan to campaign for the party candidates in Naharkatia and Duliajan as the two seats will be contested by Lurinjyoti Gogoi, the president of the newly-floated political party Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP).

Lurinjyoti Gogoi, the former general secretary of Assam’s biggest students’ organization, All Assam Students’ Union (AASU), became a face of the anti-CAA campaign in the state.

Chauhan will also campaign for Dibrugarh’s party candidate and MLA Prasanta Phukan where the Congress has fielded a young leader, Rajkumar Nilanetra Neog.

Dibrugarh is the home district of Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal.

These constituencies will go to polls in the first phase of the Assam Assembly elections on March 27, 2021.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: