The newly-floated regional party, Raijor Dal, led by farmer leader and anti-CAA activist Akhil Gogoi, announced its fourth list of four candidates to contest in the ensuing Assam Assembly elections 2021.

The third phase of the Assam Assembly election will be held on April 6, 2021.

Raijor Dal in a press conference on Sunday said the party has finalised the list of four candidates to contest in the third phase of ensuing Assam Assembly elections.

According to the list, Nilimoy Pradhan has been nominated by Raijor Dal to contest for the Goalkganj Assembly seat.

The party has nominated Ali Akbar Miya as the party candidate for the Bilasipara West constituency.

For the Palasbari Assembly constituency, the party has nominated Anil Boro as the party candidate while Dhananjoy Kalita is the party candidate for the Gauhati West seat.

Raijor Dal has also replaced its Dalgaon constituency candidate.

The party said on the basis of a petition submitted by the Darrang District Committee of Raijor Dal to review the candidature of Omar Ali for Dalgaon seat, the party has decided to field Arab Ali instead of Omar Ali.

The party informed that it is concentrating fully on the Sivasagar Assembly seat, where part president Akhil Gogoi is its candidate.

“Akhil Gogoi withdrew his candidature for the Morigaon seat respecting the wishes of the people of the constituency,” the party said.

Akhil Gogoi has been in jail since December 2019.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: