Narendra Paw, the candidate who submitted his candidature for the Raijor Dal party from  Dhemaji Legislative Assembly constituency for the forthcoming Assam Assembly Elections, withdrew his nomination papers on Friday.

In a press meet organised by the party in Dhemaji Press Club on Friday,  Paw said that he withdrew his nomination papers from the constituency in order to prevent the division of anti-BJP votes so that the saffron party candidate could be defeated in the ensuing Assembly poll.

The press meet was attended by Raijor Dal vice president Harikanta Das and Benu Debanath, Dhemaji district secretary of the party.

With his withdrawl of nomination, now five candidates remained in the fray for the Dhemaji LAC seat.

The five candidates are – present BJP MLA Dr. Ranoj Pegu, Sailen Sonowal (Congress), Chittaranjan Basumatary (Asom Jatiya Parishad), Harikanta Miri (SUCI-C) and independent candidate Ayub Khang Brahma.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: