A total of 946 candidates are in fray for the elections to the 126-member Assam Legislative Assembly. 

This was informed by the office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Assam in Guwahati. 

Three-phased elections will get underway in Assam from March 27. 

There are 264 candidates contesting in 47 constituencies going to polls in the first phase. 

For 39 seats in the second phase, 345 contestants are in the fray. 

337 will try their luck in 40 constituencies during the third phase of voting. 

The office of the Assam CEO further informed that a total of 2,33,74,087 electors across 126 Assembly constituencies in the State will exercise their franchise. 

Of the total 2,33,74,087 electors in Assam – 1,18,23,286 are male,  1,15,50,403 are female, and 398 are transgenders. 

There are also 63,074 service voters. 

“In the Special Summary Revision, a total of 12,81,918 electors have been newly enrolled. The state has a total of 2,89,474 electors who are above 80 years of age,” the Assam CEO office added. 

Also read: Assam Assembly election: Congress will win maximum seats in Upper Assam, says Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel

In the first phase of elections, there are a total of 81,09,815 general electors.  

Of these, 40,77,210 are male, 40,32,481 are female and 124 are transgenders. 

In the second phase of Assam Assembly elections, there are 73,44,631 general electors.  

Of these, 37,34,537 are male, 36,09,959 are female and 135 are transgenders.

There are 79,19,641 general electors in the third phase.  

Of these, 40,11,539 males, 39,07,963 females and 139 transgenders. 

The Assam CEO office informed that the constituency which has the highest number of electors in Phase-I is Jonai in Dhemaji district with 449 polling stations and having 3,11,660 electors.

In Phase II, it is Hojai with 373 polling station and having 2,65,886 voters and in Phase III, it is Dispur with 607 polling booths having 4,11,636 electors. 

“So, state-wise constituency with the highest number of electors is Dispur LAC with 4,11,636 electors and state- wise constituency with the lowest number of electors is Thowra LAC with 1,15,364 electors,” the Assam CEO office said. 

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in