Polling in all four Legislative Assembly constituencies in Lakhimpur district passed off peacefully on Saturday during the first phase of Assam Assembly election 2021.

Incidents of EVM glitches were reported from different parts of the district during the poll.

On Saturday, the voters locked the fate of 31 candidates in Lakhimpur district in the EVMs.

Lakhimpur district has four Assembly constituencies including 109 Bihpuria, 110 Naoboicha, 111 Lakhimpur and 112 Dahkuwakhona (ST) Assembly constituency.

Also read: Assam Assembly Election 2021: Digboi constituency records 74% voter turnout

More than 57.72% of turnout was reported from 111 Lakhimpur while 58.92% of turnout was reported from 110 Naoboicha, 56.80% from 109 Bihpuria and 65% of voter turnout was reported from Dhakuwakhna constituency till 3pm.

Technical snags in polling machines marred voting in some polling stations in the district.

There have been reports of EVM glitches in Ujjalpur LP School, Lilabari LP School and North Lakhimpur College polling station, which caused little delays in the casting of votes.

Also read:  Assam Assembly Election 2021: Election Commission seizes Rs. 97.31 crore till March 27

The incumbent MLA of Lakhimpur LAC Utpal Dutta accused the BJP of intimidation and Ganashakti workers in the 197th polling station in the Lakhimpur Assembly constituency.

It has also been alleged many of the voters did not follow COVID19 protocols and did not maintain social distancing while queuing for votes in many polling stations.

Also read: Assam Assembly election: 72.14% voter turnout in first phase

Though there have been no reports of any untoward incident coming from any part of the district during the polling time so far, some isolated incidents were reported from remote areas of the district.

The first and second phases of Assam Assembly election 2021 will be held on April 1 and April 6, 2021.

Farhana Ahmed

Farhana Ahmed is Northeast Now Correspondent in North Lakhimpur. She can be reached at: farhana.ahmed777@gmail.com