The Centre, on Tuesday, informed the Lok Sabha that at least four states in the Northeast have boundary disputes with Assam. 

The Centre stated that the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Meghalaya nad Mizoram have boundary disputes with Assam. 

There are boundary disputes between Assam-Arunachal Pradesh, Assam-Nagaland, Assam-Meghalaya, Assam-Mizoram,” the government informed Lok Sabha. 

It added: “As per available information, there are boundary disputes arising out of demarcation of boundaries and claims and counter-claims over territories between some states.”  

Also read: Assam: Six B Barooah College students in Guwahati test COVID-19 positive

Moreover, the government also informed that ‘occasional’ incidents of violence were reported from the disputed border areas. 

“Occasional protests and incidents of violence are reported from some of the disputed border areas,” the government said. 

In July this year, the border tensions between Assam and Mizoram escalated when police forces of the two states clashed at the Kolasib-Vairengte border leading to death of at least six Assam police personnel and several, including the Cachar SP, sustaining injuries. 

Meanwhile, regional committees comprising members from both Assam and Meghalaya have submitted reports on the decades-long border Assam-Meghalaya dispute. 

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: