Best Plucker Award
Representative image

Apeejay Tea has instituted the Best Plucker Award and Champion of the Season Award across its 17 tea estates in Assam.

Ramakrishn Ghosh, General Manager, HR,  Apeejay Tea said, “Plucking is skilled work and these special awards have been instituted because we believe that a special recognition of the hard work of over 21,000 of our people, almost all of them remarkable women, not to mention their skills despite the tedious nature of the work is essential.”

“Each of the 17 Estates will be recognizing and rewarding best pluckers four times in each of its divisions, totally 45, during the current season through the Best Plucker Award and at the end of the Season Apeejay Tea will reward the best of the best with the Champion of the Season Award whose skills we will celebrate along with their families,” Ghosh said.

The Best Plucker Awardee will be identified every 60 days in both Permanent and Casual categories, in a total of 45 divisions across all 17 of Apeejay Tea’s Budlapara, Khobong, Talup, Pengaree, Budlabeta, Hokonguri, Kharjan, Hilika, Hapjan, Napuk, Suffry, Jaboka, Muttrapore, Dhulapadung, Borjuli, Sessa and Ghoirallie tea estates located in Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Charaideo, Udalguri and Sonitpur districts of Assam.

A uniform approach of awarding Best Pluckers, division wise has been opted to cover maximum number of people.

The Champion of the Season Award which will be given out annually, Cluster wise, from amongst the Best Plucker Awardees, across both Permanent and Casual categories.

All awards will be cash rewards accompanied by a certificate for Best Pluckers and a trophy for Champions of the Season.

The first Best Plucker awards will be given in first week of June for the plucking period of April and May, the second will be given in August for the plucking period of June and July, the third will be given in October for the plucking period of August and September and the fourth will be given in December for the plucking period of October and November.

The Champion of the Season Awards will be decided after the finalising of the last Best Plucker Award and Champion Pluckers will be felicitated in a special ceremony along with their families.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.