counting observer chirang
Image: Northeast Now

The election counting observer for 31- Sidli (ST) LA segment of Kokrajhar parliamentary constituency in Assam, Bodeno S Colo, NCS arrived in Chirang district on Tuesday.

Immediately after arrival, the counting observer held meeting with the district administration to review the preparations done by them for the counting of votes scheduled to be held on Thursday.

Also read: Manipur: Imphal West district all set for counting day

She discussed various aspects like manpower engagement in the process, training of counting personnel, security plan for the day, declaration of round-wise results etc.

The deputy commissioner and district election officer (DEO), Chirang Gautam Talukdar briefed the counting observer on the preparatory measures taken for smooth and error-free conduct of counting of votes in the district.

On the same day, the second phase training programme for the counting personnel was also held in the conference hall of the deputy commissioner’s office in Chirang district.

During the training session, the DEO Gautam Talukdar also briefed the counting officials involving counting supervisor (CS), counting agents (CA) and micro-observers (MO) about the counting process.

The DEO told the counting officers to be more cautious as there will be no room for error during counting of votes. He also urged them not to carry their mobile phones with them and to maintain the decorum during the day of counting.

Later, the counting observer held separate training programme for the micro observers and briefed about their duties and responsibilities during the counting process as per the guidelines of the Election Commission of India.

It may be stated that for the counting of votes a total of 56 polling personnel, which include 18 counting supervisers, 18 counting assistants and 20 micro observers have already been appointed by the district election officer.

The meeting was also attended by superintendent of police Sudhakar Singh, additional deputy commissioner (election) Biswajit Goswami, Bipul Saikia, election officer Jagadish Brahma, assistant commissioners Rinkhang Mushahary and Sangita Devi.

Rinoy Basumatary

Rinoy Basumatary is Northeast Now Correspondent in Kokrajhar. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.