Phurpa Tsering, a celebrated race car driver from Dirang in Arunachal Pradesh, is all set to represent the state in the FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) 2021 Round 3, scheduled to be held at Coimbatore in Tamil Nadu from January 30-31.

As many as 60 drivers from all over the country will compete for the championship, including ace rallyists Gaurav Gill, Musa Sheriff and Dean Mascarenhas.

Phurpa will be participating in Indian National Rally Championship 3 category of the championship in 1.6 Volkswagen Polo 1.6 backed by JK Tyre and serviced by renowned Chettinad Sporting.

He will be accompanied by co-driver/navigator Lenin J from Tamil Nadu in the championship.

Phurpa will be the lone driver from Arunachal Pradesh to be participating in this mega motorsport event.

Now a regular in the INRC with some podium finishes in various categories in the past events, Phurpa had emerged winner in the Arunachal Cup in the recently concluded Round 1 and 2 held back to back in the state capital Itanagar in the month of December.

He was also placed 16th out of 44 cars in the overall competition.

Phurpa has expressed his gratitude to all his well-wishers including the state government, JK Tyre, Chettinad Sporting, department of tourism and department of sports and youth affairs for their support.


Damien Lepcha is Northeast Now Correspondent in Arunachal Pradesh. He can be reached at: