The ruling BJP in Arunachal Pradesh has already taken a 5-0 lead in the Itanagar Municipal Corporation (IMC) polls.

The BJP in Arunachal Pradesh has won 5 out of the 20 IMC wards wards, said the Arunachal Pradesh State Election Commission.

Speaking to the media Joint Secretary to the Arunachal Pradesh State Election Commission, Tamune Miso said, “In the Itanagar Municipality, five out of 20 wards have got their representatives elected unopposed after last date of withdrawal of nomination on Monday. All the five elected are BJP nominees.”

Among those who have been elected unopposed include former Deputy Chief Councillor Tarh Nachung from Ward No 19, Kipa Takum from Ward No. 18, Arun Kipa Loram from Ward No. 20, Tai Yakia from Ward No. 12 and Gyamar Tuvin from Ward No. 14.

Also read: CAA: NESO to observe December 11 as ‘Black Day’ across Northeast

Meanwhile, 36 candidates still remain in fray for the remaining 15 wards that go to polls on December 22.

Out of the 36 candidates, 15 are from the BJP, 14 from the Janata Dal (United), four from the National People’s Party (NPP) and three from the Congress.

Meanwhile, expressing happiness on winning five seats of the Itanagar Municipal Corporation unopposed, Itanagar Capital Region BJP unit president Tarh Soping said, “This shows the people’s unequivocal support and faith towards our young and dynamic Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visionary approach towards development and good governance.”

He further exuded confidence that the saffron party would form the new IMC body.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: