NF Railway train
Representative image.

Guwahati: Many trains have been cancelled or diverted to a different route due to the accident in Balasore district of Odisha.

Over 233 people were killed and at least 900 people sustained injuries in the accident that involved Shalimar-Chennai Central Coromandel Express.

Coromandel Express, which was going from Kolkata to Chennai, rammed into the derailed coaches of the other train, which was going from Bengaluru to Kolkata.

As per a railway officer, several coaches of 12864 Bengaluru-Howrah Superfast Express travelling to Howrah derailed at Bahanagabazar and fell on the up-line.

“These derailed coaches collided with 12841 Shalimar-Chennai Coromandel Express and its coaches capsized too,” he said.

A goods train was also involved in the accident as the coaches of the Coromandel Express hit its wagons after getting derailed, the official said. The accident occurred at around 7 p.m., about 255 km from Howrah, he said.

The following trains will remain cancelled/partially cancelled /diverted due to the accident:

Cancellation of trains

  • 12837 Howrah-Puri Express journey
  • 12863 Howrah-Sir M Visveswaraiya Terminal Express
  • 12839 Howrah-Chennai Mail
  • 12895 Shalimar-Puri Superfast Express
  • 20831 Shalimar-Sambalpur Express
  • 02837 Santragachi-Puri Special
  • 22201 Sealdah-Puri Duronto Express
  • 12074 Bhubaneswar-Howrah Jan Shatabdi Express from Bhubaneswar
  • 12073 Howrah-Bhubaneswar Jan Shatabdi Express from Howrah
  • 12278 Puri-Howrah Shatabdi Express from Puri
  • 12277 Howrah-Puri Shatabdi Express from Howrah
  • 12822 Puri-Shalimar Dhauli Express from Puri 
  • 12821 Shalimar Puri Dhauli Express from Shalimar
  • 12892 Puri-Bangiriposi from Puri
  • 12891 Bangiriposi-Puri Express from Bangiriposi
  • 02838 Puri-Santragachhi Special from Puri 
  • 12842 Chennai-Shalimar Coromandal Express from Chennai
  • 12509 SMVT Bengaluru-Guwahati from Bangalore

Diversion of trains:

  • 22807 Santragachi-Chennai Express
  • 22873 Digha-Visakhapatnam Express
  • 18409 Shalimar-Puri Sri Jagannath Express
  • 22817 Howrah-Mysuru Express 
  • 12802 New Delhi-Puri Purusottam Express from New Delhi on 01.06.2023 will run via Tata-Kendujhargarh
  • 18478 Rishikesh-Puri Kalinga Utkal Express from Rishikesh on 01.06.2023 will run via Tata-Kendujhargarh
  • 12815 Puri-Anand Vihar (New Delhi) Nandankanan Express from Puri on 03.06.2023 will run via Jakhapura-Jaroli

Partial cancellation

  • 08415 Jaleswar-Puri Special from Jaleswar on 03.06.2023 will originate from Bhadrak instead of Jaleswar

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: