Russia has ordered its troops to enter into eastern Ukraine. 

The Russian troops have been ordered by President Vladimir Putin to enter into separatists-held region of Donbas in Ukraine. 

Russia has recognised independence of separatist-controlled provinces of Donetsk and Luhansk, collectively known as Donbas region of Ukraine. 

Russia said the troops would be on a ‘peacekeeping’ mission in the Donbas region. 

However, the United States has called Russia’s ‘peacekeeping’ mission as ‘nonsense’. 

The US has accused Russia of creating a pretext for war. 

Meanwhile, Ukraine’s president has said that his country is “not afraid of anything or anyone”. 

Donbas is a Russian-speaking-ethnicity majority region of Ukraine, some of whose territory is occupied by two unrecognized separatist states – the Donetsk People’s Republic and the Luhansk People’s Republic, after the 2014 Russo-Ukrainian War. 

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: