Sushil Chandra on Tuesday assumed charge as the new Chief Election Commissioner of India.

Sushil Chandra succeeded Sunil Arora, who demitted the office on Monday after completing his tenure.

Sushil Chandra has been serving in the Commission as Election Commissioner since February 15, 2019.

Sushil Chandra, 63, is a 1980-batch Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer and was the senior-most election commissioner, ahead of Rajiv Kumar, in the three-member poll panel.

Sushil Chandra is the 24th Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India.

Also read: Second wave of COVID-19: Fearing lockdown, migrant workers begin journey back home

Chandra will oversee the remaining four phases of ongoing assembly elections in West Bengal. The final phase will take place on April 29. Votes will be counted and results declared on May 2.

Born on May 15, 1957, Chandra did his B-Tech from Roorkee University. He also holds a degree in LLB from DAV College, Dehradun.

Before joining IRS in 1980, he was in the Indian Engineering Service.

During his term as the CEC, Sushil Chandra will be the man responsible for conducting elections in five states – Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Uttarakhand and Manipur.

Also read: African swine fever kills 671 pigs in Mizoram

Sushil Chandra had previously served as the Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT).

Sushil Chandra will demit office on May 14, 2022.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: