President Ram Nath Kovind on Sunday signed on all the three contentious farm bills and gave his assent.

The three bills have been vehemently opposed by the opposition parties, who see these bills as anti-farmer and corporate-friendly bills.

The three bills were recently passed by both the houses of the Parliament.

The government has notified them.

The Farmer’s Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and the Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement of Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020 have been passed in both the Houses of Parliament.

More than a dozen opposition parties had urged President Kovind not to sign the contentious bills, alleging that they were passed “unconstitutionally” in “complete disregard” of parliamentary norms.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: