Okram Joy Singh
O Joy speaking to mediapersons in Imphal on Monday. Image credit: Northeast Now

Former firebrand opposition leader in Manipur Okram Joy Singh popularly known as O Joy resigned from the primary membership of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday.

O Joy who was also the spokesperson of BJP Manipur Pradesh submitted his resignation paper to the party’s state unit president.

Announcing this during a hurriedly called press conference at his Kakwa Huidrom Leikai residence, 5 km south of Imphal this afternoon, O Joy said that he resigns because the people and the community are important than the party.

He further said that the major reason behind the resignation is because of the prevailing unresolved public issues including Border Pillar number 81, Manipur University crisis, the issue of Framework agreement and 7th pay commission in the state.

He said the present BJP is not the party led by Atal Behari Vajpayee but a party led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President Amit Shah adding that he noted the difference. “I hope others may also have feel it,” he said.

He alleged that BJP, a party which had been demanding removal of special status from the states since its inception, is now tries to impose the special status. “This is very unfortunate and surprising,” he added.

Terming the recognition of Manipur University crisis over the demand of removal of Vice Chancellor Prof AP Pandey when the strike enters 48th day “unfortunate,” former MLA who represented Langthabal constituency where University is located, charged the leaders in the ruling front for their alleged failure to convince the central leaders boldly on the important public issues in the state.

The veteran politician who lost in the last assembly election also expressed his desire to help and join the public movement.

He joined the BJP on September 25, 2015. Prior to his resignation, the BJP Langthabal Mandal which was headed by N Brajamohan was also dissolved following a decision of the mandal during a meeting at former MLA Joy’s residence on Sunday.

BJP Langthabal Mandal Vice President W Norendra, secretary H Samarendra and other functionaries besides the political workers also attended the day’s press conference.

On June 8, 2018 former minister and MLA of Kumbi Assembly Constituency, Ningthoujam Mangi also resigned from the BJP. Mangi joined BJP on February 5, 2017.

Sobhapati Samom

Sobhapati Samom is Northeast Now Correspondent in Imphal. He can be reached at: ssamom@gmail.com

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.