From April 1, the cheque books and passbooks along with account numbers of customers of eight banks will become invalid.

These 8 banks are: Dena Bank, Vijaya Bank, Corporation Bank, Andhra Bank, Syndicate Bank, Oriental Bank of Commerce, United Bank of India and Allahabad Bank.

These 8 banks were merged with other big lenders.

The account holders of these banks will have to get a new cheque book and passbook as the previous ones will become invalid from 1 April 2021.

These account holders also need to know the new IFSC and MICR code.

If you are a customer of any of these banks, you have to get a new cheque book and passbook of the banks with which your old bank has been merged.

Also read: IAF’s MiG-21 Bison meets accident, pilot killed

Dena Bank and Vijaya Bank were merged with Bank of Baroda on 1 April 2019.

Oriental Bank of Commerce and United Bank of India amalgamated with Punjab National Bank.

Syndicate Bank has been merged with Canara Bank.

Andhra Bank and Corporation Bank merged with Union Bank of India.

Allahabad Bank has been merged with Indian Bank.

The new rules will be applicable from April 1 and due to the merger, the account number, IFSC code, MICR code, branch address will also be changed.

Also read: CAA implemented even before being passed?


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: