Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSR Congress Party made a clean sweep in the municipal elections in Andhra Pradesh, winning all 11 municipal corporations and 73 of the 75 municipalities.

The civil body election was held on March 10.

“People have overwhelmingly backed our CM Jagan’s three capital cities theory,” said YSR Congress party spokesperson Ambati Rambabu.

According to reports, the opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) won two civic bodies – the Tadipatri and Mydukur municipalities.

The election authorities kept the result of elections to the Eluru Municipal Corporation withheld in view of a stay order issued by the Andhra Pradesh High Court.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AMIM), led by Asaduddin Owaisi, which fought the elections for the first time in Andhra Pradesh, bagged just one municipal ward in Hindupur town.

The victory by YSR Congress party in Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada and Guntur has been termed as a major setback for the TDP.

The TDP, led by Leader of Opposition, N. Chandrababu Naidu, failed to earn double-digits in many towns.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in