Two National Liberation Front of Tripura-Biswamohan (NLFT-BM) members surrendered before the Border Security Force (BSF) on Saturday in Tripura.

The rebels identified as Khitish Debbarma alias Kwkhwi and Swapan Debbarma alias Bathar belong to the Khowai district of Tripura.

Khitish had joined the banned outfit in 2019 and was as an active cadre of the outfit while Swapan joined in the year 2020.

Also Read: Assam: Man trampled to death by wild elephant in Digboi

As per reports, at least 31 NLFT-BM cadres have surrendered since 2017.

Between 2017 and 2020, 23 insurgents surrendered, six in 2021 and two on Saturday.

The National Liberation Front of Tripura (abbreviated NLFT) is a Tripuri nationalist militant organisation based in Tripura, India. It has an estimated 550 to 850 members.

The NLFT seeks to secede from India and establish an independent Tripuri state and is an active participant in the Insurgency in Northeast India.

Also Read: Assam: Elephant mowed down by train in Nagaon”s Samaguri

The NLFT is currently designated as a terrorist organisation in India.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: