Rebati Mohan Das

In a fresh political development, Tripura Assembly Speaker Rebati Mohan Das on Thursday resigned from his post.

Confirming the news, a top official said Speaker Das cited ‘personal reasons’ as the cause of his resignation.

A media report quoted Tripura Assembly secretary Bishnu Pada Karmakar as saying that Assembly Speaker Das submitted his resignation letter to Deputy Speaker Biswa Bandhu Sen.

A former CPI-M leader, Das joined the BJP in 2016.

Das was elected to the Tripura Assembly in the 2018 elections on a BJP ticket from western Tripura’s Pratapgarh Assembly seat.

At a time when a section of ruling BJP MLAs and leaders in Tripura are expressing their resentment, Tripura chief minister Biplab Kr Deb on Tuesday inducted three new faces – Ram Prasad Paul, Sushanta Chowdhury, Bhagaban Chandra Das – in the State Cabinet in its first expansion after the BJP-IPFT alliance assumed office in March 2018.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: