Tripura Police has registered 12 FIRs against teachers in connection with the clashes between police and the protesting teachers in Agartala on Wednesday.

Two cases (number 19/2021 and 20/2021) were registered at West Agartala Police station and police have sent notices to the teachers.

More than 100 people, including security personnel and protesting teachers, were injured in Agartala on Wednesday after the police used force to thwart the protesters’ attempt to picket outside Tripura chief minister Biplab Deb’s official residence.

Over 200 protesters were arrested.

The police registered cases against Kamal Deb, Dalia Das, Bimal Saha, Ajoy Debbarma, Dipankar Debbarma, Prashanta Debbarma, Mintu Debbarma, Bijoy Krishna Saha, Amulya Debbarma, Piyali Dhar, Soma Deb Datta, Debasish Sarkar.

They have been booked under section 120 (B), 148, 149, 341, 353, 332, 427, and 188 of the IPC.

In the early hours of Wednesday, the West Tripura District Magistrate and collector Shailesh Kumar Yadav imposed restrictions on assembly in the area.

The security forces later cracked down on the protesting teachers, who had been protesting for weeks, living in tents near the Chief Minister’s house.

The teachers were sacked from their government jobs after a Supreme Court order declared their appointment during the previous government’s regime as illegal.

They have been demanding new jobs.

The injured teachers and the police personnel were admitted to the Agartala Medical College and Hospital and Indira Gandhi Memorial hospital in Agartala.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: