Congress has announced its list of candidates for the ensuing election to the 28-member Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC).

To contest the ADC election, Congress has given party ticket to Village Committee chairman Sanjeev Kalai, who has shifted his allegiance from Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) to Congress.

Out of 28, there is one female candidate, who will contest the ADC election, scheduled to be held on April 4, 2021.

Congress party has also given party ticket to two of the teachers (total 10,323), who were sacked by the Tripura government on the basis of a directive of the Supreme Court.

The sacked teachers, who are getting ready to contest the ADC election are Narendra Reang and Ratna Sadhna Jamatia.

Narendra Reang will fight from Maharani-Chelagang constituency and Ratna Sadhna Jamatia will contest from Killa-Bagma constituency.

While announcing the list of candidates on Monday, Tripura Congress president Pijush Biswas said, “This time, 81 aspirants applied to contest the ADC election on Congress ticket.”

“Out of them, the selection committee has nominated 28 people based on their educational qualifications and many other things. But only one woman applied for ticket,” Biswas said.

This time, Congress is going to fight the Tripura ADC election alone.

Congress earlier contested the Tripura ADC elections in alliance with the Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT), a longtime political ally of the Congress.

This time INPT has joined hands with TIPRA, led by Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: