Representational image

The Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) has submitted the charge-sheet of Tripura journalist Sudip Datta murder case in Agartala court.

CBI lawyer Prabir Saha has confirmed it on Thursday.

CBI has given charge-sheet against five persons.

They are commandant Tapan Debbarma, his PSOs Nanda Kumar Reang, Nayek Subedar, Amit Debbarma; riflemen Dharmendra Singh and Swrupananda Biswas.

The charge sheet has been submitted under section 302, 120 (B) and 27 (2).

Also read: CBI arrests TSR official in Tripura journalist murder case

On November 21, 2017, journalist Sudip Datta Bhowmik was killed in the premises of Tripura State Rifles (TSR) second battalion head quarter at R K Nagar.

After the murder of journalist Sudip Datta Bhowmik, the journalists’ unions demanded for CBI investigation.

But the then Left Front government ordered for special investigation and formed a Special Investigation Team (SIT) headed by DIG Arindam Nath.

SIT also submitted the charge sheet in the court and trial was started.

SIT accused four persons in the case.

They are Commandant Tapan Debbarma, his PSOs Nanda Kumar Reang, Nayek Subedar Amit Debbarma and rifleman Dharmendra Singh.

After the BJP-led government assumed power in the State, they ordered for CBI investigation.

The CBI also investigated the case of journalist Santanu Bhowmik murder case who was killed on September 20, 2017 at Mandwai.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: