Three Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators have been suspended for the remaining periods of the session in the Odisha Assembly.

Odisha Assembly speaker Surjya Narayan Patro ordered the suspension after shoes were allegedly hurled at him following protests over the alleged arbitrary passage of some bills in the House, India Today reported.

On Saturday morning, a ruckus erupted in the Odisha Assembly after the three BJP MLAs — Jayanarayan Mishra, Mohan Charan Majhi and Bishnu Sethi — allegedly hurled shoes at Speaker Patro as a mark of protest.

They also alleged that Odisha Lokayukta (Amendment) Bill was passed in the House without debate on the same.

The decision to suspend the three MLAs was taken after Speaker Patro reviewed the video of the incident that took place in the state assembly.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha, Government Chief Whip Pramila Mallick, Leader of Opposition Pradipta Naik and Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Narasingha Mishra also examined the video.

Pramilla Mallik said Deputy Leader of the Opposition Bishnu Sethi, MLA Jayanarayan Mishra and Opposition chief whip Mohan Majhi allegedly hurled shoes, earphones and papers at the Speaker’s podium.

“I don’t know what exactly I threw at the Speaker, but I have not done anything wrong. The Speaker deserved this kind of behaviour,” said MLA Jayanarayan Mishra.

Following the suspension, the Speaker asked the three BJP members to leave the House.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: