Six agricultural scientists from three states of Northeast- Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya and Tripura- received ICAR’s National Award.

The scientists have been awarded for their outstanding innovation in farming and boosting the agricultural economy in the region.

Announcing the award on Friday, a senior Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) official said that besides the six scientists, two Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVK) in Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur and three farmers of Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya received the ICAR awards on Thursday for their exceptional feats in agricultural and farming sectors of the region.

Moreover, four scientists from Tripura received the Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Award and Swami Sahajan and Saraswati Award for the year 2019-20.

They are Lopamudra Sahoo, Gulab Singh Yadav, Chandan Debnath and Basant Kumar Kandpal and they are associated with the ICAR research complex in Tripura.

The Jawaharlal Nehru Award for PG Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Agricultural and Allied Sciences Scientist were received by Amit Kumar- currently associated with the ICAR research complex in Meghalaya and Nangsol Dolma Bhutia- Assistant Professor of Central Agricultural University at Pasighat in Arunachal Pradesh.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: