The delegation of the bus tour to Bangladesh and Myanmar, named as Sampark Yatra, has left for Bangladesh from Guwahati.

The 22-member team led by Act East Policy Affairs and industries and commerce minister Chandra Mohan Patowary, comprises of 9 MLAs and 12 senior state government officials left for the neighbouring country from Assam Administrative Staff College, Khanapara on Wednesday morning.

The team will be back to Guwahati on July 5.

The route will be Guwahati–Dawki-Tamabil-Sylhet–Sutarkandi- Karimganj – Silchar – Imphal (via flight) – Moreh – Tamu – Kale – Monywa – Mandalay –  Yangon (via flight) – Kolkata (via flight) – Guwahati (via flight).

This is a part of Act East initiative of the Assam Government. The purpose of the goodwill mission is to sensitize decision makers of the locational advantage of these countries to Assam and explore potentialities of economic growth.

The delegates will have meetings with relevant stakeholders in those places like, transporters, exporters, chambers of commerce and senior government officials, which would be duly coordinated by the Indian Missions in those countries.

Aboard the bus, Minister Patowary hoped that the journey will help in reopening the old trade links between Assam and South East Asia.

“NE and ASEAN have a long socio-cultural and historical affinity. As part of the Act East Policy, this journey will bridge people-to-people contact and boost commerce,” added the Minister.

Minister Patowary and the team were accorded a warm welcome by the Sylhet District Authorities, Bangladesh Custom officials and Chambers of Commerce, Bangladesh at Maitree Dwar, Indo-Bangla Friendship Gate. Deputy Commissioner, Sylhet hosted a dinner along with a cultural programme in honour of the Indian delegation, which was also attended by senior Bangladesh Government officials.

The delegation comprises of MLAs Dilip Kumar Paul (Silchar LAC), Aminul Haque Laskar (Sonai LAC), Joyram Engleng (Howraghat LAC), Dipak Kumar Rabha (Dudhnoi LAC), Suman Haripriya (Hajo LAC), Mrinal Saikia (Khumtai LAC), Kushal Dowari (Thowra LAC), Debananda Hazarika (Bihpuria LAC) and Ranoj Pegu (Dhemaji LAC) including additional chief secretary Jishnu Barua; principal secretary Avinash Purushottam; commissioner and secretary, SS Meenakshi Sundaram and other government officials.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.