Rajya Sabha

The Election Commission has deferred the polls to 18 Rajya Sabha seats in view of the nationwide lock-down because of Covid-19 threat.

The biennial poll for the 18 seats was scheduled to be held on March 26.

The elections for the 18 seats of Rajya Sabha were scheduled to be held in Manipur, Meghalaya, Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, and Rajasthan.

The Election Commission on February 25 had declared polls to 55 Rajya Sabha seats.

Later, another bypoll was announced later to fill the vacancy caused by resignation of BJP MP Birender Singh.

Election for 18 seats was scheduled for March 26 as 37 candidates were elected unopposed.

Fresh date of the Rajya Sabha elections shall be announced after the lifting of the lockdown.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in