Primary, secondary schools in Arunachal with zero enrolment to be closed

Arunachal Govt school
View of a Government HS School in Changlang. photo credit -

2 min read

The Arunachal Pradesh Government has decided to close all zero-enrolment primary and secondary schools in the State.

Members of the State Cabinet headed by Chief Minister Pema Khandu had a meeting here on Thursday decided to close down all such schools running without students by August 31, subject to verification.

All teachers from these schools will be redeployed in schools functioning with teacher deficit.

The Cabinet which had a detailed discussion on the education scenario of the state and the departments concerned also took serious note of reported out-of-turn promotions in the education department and approved immediate revocation of all such promotions.

It observed that the decision would boost the morale of deserving in-service employees and streamline the system.

Besides, the Cabinet decided to restructure the organization through amendment of recruitment rules in the department at all levels.

The Cabinet has also approved creation of 400 posts exclusively for regularization of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (ISSE) teachers subject to fulfillment of the criteria of merit cum seniority, rules and regulations, which would be finalized by the department.

The resultant vacancies in SSA (ISSE) shall then stand abolished forthwith and will not be filled up. It may be noted here that Government of India had integrated the erstwhile three schemes – SSA, Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan and Scheme of Restructuring and Reorganisation of Teacher Education – into one platform as Integrated Scheme for School Education (ISSE).

One District Project Coordinator under ISSE in each district will be selected on merit through a strict selection process by a Committee under the chairpersonship of the State Project Director. To maintain absolute transparency, the Cabinet has ordered the entire selection process to be video-graphed.

Meanwhile, in another significant decision the Cabinet has approved the proposal of District Re-organisation Bill, 2018 for creation of three new districts – Lepa Rada, Pakke-Kesang and Shi-Yomi, which would be now taken up in the State legislative assembly for discussion and decision.

Damien Lepcha is Northeast Now Correspondent in Arunachal Pradesh. He can be reached at: