Mary Kom
File photo of MC Mary Kom

On the eve of the 71st Republic Day, names of 15 noted personalities from Northeast India have been chosen for Padma Awards 2020.

While world boxing champion MC Mary Kom has been conferred Padma Vibhushan, SC Jamir from Nagaland has been chosen for Padma Bhushan and 13 other noted personalities from the Northeast have been conferred Padma Shri.

They have been conferred the Padma Awards for their contributions in different disciplines and fields of activities including art, social work, public affairs, medicine, literature and education, and sports.

MC Mary Kom from Manipur, who is an Olympic boxer and only woman to become the World Amateur Boxing champion, has been conferred Padma Vibhushan for her exceptional and distinguished service in the field of sport.

Former Nagaland chief minister SC Jamir, who was also a former governor of Odisha, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, and Odisha, has been conferred Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order in the field of public affairs.

Among the 13 noted personalities chosen for Padma Shri include Indira PP Bora from Assam.

Noted Sattriya exponent Indira PP Bora has been conferred for her distinguished service in the field of art.

The other recipients of Padma Shri Award for 2020 from Assam include Lil Bahadur Chettri, Jogendra Nath Phukan for their contribution in the field of literature and education; Dr. Kushal Konwar Sarma in the field of medicine and Dr. Ravi Kannan R. in the field of medicine.

Dr Kushal Konwar Sarma, an Assam veterinarian, has been honoured with the award for his outstanding contributions in the field of wildlife treatment and Asian Elephant conservation.

Also read: Assam veterinarian Dr Kushal Konwar Sarma conferred Padma Shri

Woman footballer Oinam Bembem Devi from Manipur, who received Arjuna Award in 2017, has been conferred Padma Shri for her contribution in the field of sports.

The other Padma Shri Award winners for 2020 for their contributions in the field of literature and education include Yeshe Dorjee Thongchi from Arunachal Pradesh, Benichandra Jamatia from Tripura, C. Kamlova and Pu Lalbiakthanga Pachuau from Mizoram.

Yeshe Dorjee Thongchi was a top bureaucrat of Arunachal Pradesh, but he is a noted litterateur who has penned several books in the Assamese language.

Sathyanarayan Mundayoor from Arunachal Pradesh has been conferred Padma Shri for his contribution in the field of social work, Trinity Saioo from Meghalaya in the field of agriculture.

Here is the complete list of Padma Awardees:

[pdf-embedder url=””]


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: