NDPP to launch campaign in Dimapur for Nagaland LS bypoll from Thursday

Ruling PDA candidate Tokheho Yepthomi during filing of his nomination on May 10 for by-election to lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland. Photo: Northeast Now

2 min read

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) will launch campaign for the May 28 bypoll to the lone Lok Sabha seat of of Nagaland from Thursday.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio on Monday said that NDPP-led PDA would be launching a campaign for the bypoll from Dimapur district.

Senior NDPP leader Tokheho Yepthomi and former MLA of the Naga People’s Front (NPF), C Apok Jamir have filed their nominations for the May 28 bypoll to the lone Lok Sabha seat of Nagaland.

The seat fell vacant after MP Neiphiu Rio resigned on February 17 to contest the assembly election. He won the Northern Angami-II seat uncontested and later became the chief minister of the state.

Today, being the last day for filing nominations, the candidates, flanked by supporters, submitted their papers, Nagaland Commissioner M Patton, who is also returning officer for the bypoll, said here.

The ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA), led by the NDPP, had announced Yepthomi’s name as their candidate from the seat.

Yepthomi was accompanied by state BJP president Visasolie Lhoungu and NDPP Minister C M Chang when he filed his papers at the office of the returning officer today.

Jamir’s name, on the other hand, was proposed by NPF spokesperson Achumbemo Kikon. Senior legislators and party functionaries, along with NPF president Shurhozelie Liezietsu, escorted Jamir to Patton’s office.

The scrutiny of the documents would be conducted tomorrow, Patton said, adding that the last date of withdrawal of candidature is May 14.  NPF president Liezietsu, however, said they would kick-start their campaign as soon as the scrutiny of the nomination papers is over.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: nenow24x7@gmail.com