File photo of Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio.

The Nagaland government has constituted a Core Committee on Naga Political Issue (NPI) headed by chief minister Neiphiu Rio.

As per report, the committee also includes deputy chief minister Y Patton and Leader of Opposition TR Zeliang besides the four members each from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), BJP, Naga People’s Front (NPF) and Independent MLA.

Though no official notification has been issued so far, social media messages circulating read

As per reports, the core Committee constituted to further pursue the Naga political issue.

The Nagaland government, however, has not issued notification so far in this regard.

Confirming the constitution of the Core Committee on NPI, Minister for Higher Education and Tribal Affairs, Temjen Imma Along on Thursday said it was constituted on Wednesday during a meeting.

Leader of Opposition T R Zeliang also said the opposition is yet to receive any official notification.

According to reports, the first official meeting of the Core Committee has been fixed for June 19 to deliberate the way forward on the vexed Naga issue.

The NPF had moved out of the existing Joint Legislators Forum (JLF) on the Naga issue of the State Assembly in August 2020 stating that it has “failed” to make any progress to resolve the vexed Naga issue.

Since then, NPF had been demanding the formation of an all party forum headed by the chief minister with a working committee in place.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: