Nagaland State Transport-bus
Representative image.

The Nagaland State Transport (NST) has won the Road Safety Award 2018-2019.

The award is given by the Association of State Road Transport Undertakings (ASRTU), New Delhi.

Nagaland State Transport won the award for the lowest rate of accidents, says a media report.

Announcing about this achievement, transport minister P Paiwang Konyak said thanked the dedicated officers of the department, Elibemo Yanthan, general manager, Atovi and Shikaho, additional general manager and other officers, drivers and mechanics for serving the people with sincerity and dedication.

According to the report, the award will be presented at the International Conference and Exhibition on Public Transport Innovation (ICEPTI) 2019 to be held at Manekshaw centre, New Delhi from January 30-31, 2020.

The executive director of ASRTU, Capt NIV Ratnaparkhi has also congratulated the NST team for their distinguished achievement and also encouraged them to continue with winning spirit in the future for making the public transport safe in the state and the country.

Sharing a news report regarding the award, policy analyst Amba Jamir on his Twitter handle congratulated the NST team: “Congratulations to the #NagalandStateTransport on bagging the #ASRTUS #RoadSaferyAward. Specially appreciation to the #drivers and staff for their dedicated hard work and labour.”


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: