Nagaland map
Nagaland map before creation of the three new districts.

The Nagaland government on Saturday created three more districts, bringing the total number of districts in the state to 15.

The State Cabinet announced the formation of the three new districts in Kohima.

The newly created districts are Tseminyu, Niuland and Chumukedima.

While Tseminyu district has been formed by bifurcating Kohima district, Niuland and Chumukedima districts were carved out of Dimapur district.

Tseminyu became the 13th, Niluland 14th and Chumukedima the 15th district of the state.

Nagaland till Saturday had 12 districts – Dimapur, Kiphire, Kohima, Longleng, Mokokchung, Mon, Phek, Tuensang Wokha, Zunheboto, Noklak.

Also read: Nagaland: Protest against AFSPA rocks Kohima streets

Noklak district, formerly a sub-division of Tuensang district, was the youngest district among them.

It was created on December 21, 2017, by the Naga People’s Front (NPF) government led by former chief minister TR Zeliang.

PHE minister Jacob Zhimomi expressed his happiness at the creation of Nuiland and Chumukedima districts.

He said this was the best Christmas gift ever.

Taking to Twitter, Zhimomi said he was delighted to share that Niuland and Chumukedima under his constituency have been created as new districts by the state cabinet today.

“Thankful and grateful to HCM @Neiphiu_Rio ji. The best Christmas gift ever,” Zhimomi tweeted.

“18.12.2021 a Historic day! TSEMINYU, the 13th District of Nagaland. On behalf of the Rengma Naga, I express my heartfelt gratitude to @CmoNagalandShri@Neiphiu Rio & Cabinet members for fulfilling our long-cherished dream,” adviser to animal husbandry and veterinary services, R Khing tweeted.

Khing represents the Tseminyu constituency, home to the Rengma Nagas, in the Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

Bhadra Gogoi

Bhadra Gogoi is Northeast Now Correspondent in Nagaland. He can be reached at: