MNF nominee K. Vanlalvena  secured 27 votes out of the 39 polled to defeat his arch rival B.

Mizoram’s ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) on Friday won the Rajya Sabha polls, which saw a triangular contest for the lone seat, an official said.

MNF nominee K. Vanlalvena  secured 27 votes out of the 39 polled to defeat his arch rival B. Lalchhanzova of main opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), who grasped all the 7 votes of party MLAs, returning officer for the Rajya Sabha polls H Lalrinawma said

Congress nominee Dr Lallianchunga secured 5 votes to clinch third rank, he said.

Lalrinawma, who is also state assembly commissioner and secretary, said that BJP legislator Dr Buddha Dhan Chakma did not cast his vote.

Speaking to reporters his successful election, K. Vanlalvena said he would try his best for the welfare and development of the state.

He thanked chief minister and MNF president Zoramthanga, party MLAs and workers for giving him opportunity and extending support.

The 50-year-old former student leader turned politician also lauded the party policy and ideology as the best for developing the state.

Born in January 1970 at East Lungdar village in Serchhip district, K. Vanlalvena worked as high school teacher under the state government after he graduated in science from Pachhunga University College (PUC) in 1993.

During his college days, he had been actively involved in student unions and served as the vice president of state apex student body, Mizo Zirlai Pawl (MZP) for two consecutive years and president of the student organisation for one term.

During his stint as student leader, over 20,000 foreigners were removed from the state electoral rolls due to strong agitation by students.

He made his entry into politics in 2002 where he was appointed as general secretary of MNF youth wing and later as president of the youth wing.

In 2015, he had unsuccessfully contested the assembly bypolls to Aizawl North-III seat and lost to Congress nominee Lal Thanzara.

Vanlalvena is currently a member of the national core committee of the MNF.

This is the third time MNF is winning the Rajya Sabha polls after a hiatus of 6 years.

The last MNF Rajya Sabha member was Lalhmingliana. He won the seat for two consecutive terms in 2002 and 2008.

The incumbent RS member from Mizoram is Ronald Sapa Tlau of Congress. His term will expire on July 18.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: