Lalliansawta has been declared the new president of Mizoram’s opposition party, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), a party leader said.

Lalliansawta was declared as the new party president during a function held in Aizawl on Tuesday, the leader said.

He will lead the party for three years (2020-2023).

The party leader said the election to elect new party leaders could not be held due to the outbreak of Covid19 for which the task to appoint new office-bearers was given to Val Upa Council (Senior Bachelors’ Council), the top decision-making committee of the party.

Four leaders of the party – K.Sapdanga, Dr. Kennet Chawngliana, Lalthansanga and Rev Dr .K. Thanzaua – were declared vice presidents while C. Laltanpuia was declared treasurer of the party, he said.

In his presidential address, Lalliansawta said the party leadership would make massive efforts to ensure that the party wins the next Assembly polls to be held in 2023.

He said their party is firm on bringing a new system to establish a “responsible and people’s government” in the state.

The ZPM contested 39 seats in the last Assembly polls held in November 2018 and won 8 seats.

Its chief ministerial candidate, Lalduhoma winning, won two seats – Serchhip and Aizawl West-I.

Lalduhoma later vacated Aizawl West-I seat and retained the Serchhip seat.

The party candidates had to contest as independent as it had not obtained registration at that time.

The party currently has 7 members in the 40-member Assembly.

Recently, the State Assembly served a show-cause notice to Lalduhoma following complaints filed by 12 ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) legislators seeking his disqualification.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: