The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday announced the bypoll to Serchhip assembly seat to be held simultaneously with two parliamentary constituencies and 13 assembly seats in various states on April 17.

The last date for filing nominations papers for the bypolls to two parliamentary seats- Tirupati in Andra Pradesh and Belgaum in Karnataka, and 14 assembly seats in 11 states, including Mizoram (Serchhip) is fixed on March 30, the Election Commission said in a notification.

While the last date for withdrawal is fixed on April 3, scrutiny of nominations papers will be held on March 31, it said.

Counting of votes for the bypolls to two parliamentary constituencies and 14 assembly seats will be held simultaneously on May 2, the notification said.

10 others states where assembly bypolls will be held are Gujarat (1 seat), Jharkhand (1), Karanataka (2), Madhya Pradesh (1), Maharashtra (1), Nagaland, (1) Odisha (1) Rajasthan (3) Telangana (1) and Uttarakhand (1).

According to the latest rolls published on January 20, there are 19,296 electorates, including 10,194 female voters in Serchhip constituency.

However, an election official said that the figure could differ now as it is being continuously updated.

There are 29 polling stations in Serchhip assembly constituency, he said.

The bypoll to Serchhip seat was necessitated by the disqualification of incumbent MLA Lalduhoma, who won on independent ticket in the last assembly polls held in November 2018.

Lalduhoma was disqualified as a legislator in November last year under the anti-defection law.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), main opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and Congress has already officially announced names of their candidates for the coming bypoll.

MNF has nominated party vice president and former Lok Sabha member and ex-MLA Vanlalzawma, while the ZPM will field its leader Lalduhoma to retain his seat.

Congress has nominated party leader P.C. Laltlansanga.

Both the BJP and People’s Conference (PC) party are yet to officially announce names of their candidates.

Party sources said that the BJP will field former state BJP spokesperson Lalhriatrenga Chhangte, while PC will field its vice president Vanlalruata.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: