Assam Congress EVM GMC election
Representative image

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) is leading against the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) as the counting of votes of bypolls for the Tuirial Assembly seat has been underway since 8 am on Tuesday.

According to the latest update on the official website of the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday, the candidate of the ruling party Mizo National Front (MNF) is leading by 1284 votes against his nearest rival of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM).

While K Laldawngliana is the MNF candidate, Laltlanmawia is the ZPM candidate for the Tuirial seat.

A total of 81.28% of voters cast their votes in the bypolls to Tuirial Assembly constituency in Mizoram‘s Kolasib district near the Assam border on Saturday.

Also read: Assam bye-election 2021: BJP leads in 3 Assembly seats, UPPL in 2

Mizoram Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) P. Jawahar said the polling ended peacefully at 6 pm amid tight security.

The polling duration was extended by one hour after the normal timing (5 pm) for the Sabbath followers and COVID-19 positive patients, Jawahar had said.

Also read: Over 7.98 lakh voters in Mizoram in draft voter lists

“81.28% turnout was recorded till 6 pm, which could increase to a little decimal point after the final tally,” the CEO said.

There was no untoward incident and law and order problem during the 11-hour polling, he said.

The CEO said no Bru voters from Tripura cast their votes in the bypoll.

Also read: Mizoram Assembly bypolls: 81.28% voter turnout recorded in Tuirial

The bypoll to Tuirial Assembly seat was necessitated due to the death of incumbent MLA Andrew H. Thangliana of Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) in August.

Congress fielded former MLA Chalrosanga Ralte while the BJP fielded its spokesperson K. Laldinthara (BJP) for the bypoll.

There are 17,911 electorates, including 9,092 female voters, in Tuirial constituency.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: