Mizoram Assembly Speaker Lalrinliana Sailo will announce his decision on the disqualification petition against independent MLA Lalduhoma on Friday, an official statement said.

The Speaker will announce his decision at 11 am at his official chamber.

The entire proceeding will be telecast live on Doordarshan Aizawl and local cable TV channels, the statement said.

In September, 12 ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) legislators had submitted petitions to the Speaker demanding the disqualification of Lalduhoma for allegedly violating the constitution of the country.

In their petitions, the ruling MLAs alleged that Lalduhoma, who was elected as independent in the last Assembly polls held in November 2018, has breached para 2 (2) of the 10th schedule of the Indian constitution by defecting to the newly-floated Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) party.

They also alleged the independent MLA has indulged in ZPM party activities by attending the party office and inducting new members into the party at functions held in Aizawl and other places, which clearly manifested that he defected to the ZPM.

Subsequently, the Assembly served a show-cause notice to Lalduhoma on September 24 seeking an explanation from him as to why he should not be disqualified.

In his reply to the Speaker on October 8, Lalduhoma said he did not defect to any other party as he continuously maintained his allegiance to the ZPM since its formation in 2017.

The 71-year-old leader said the ZPM was formed by several minor parties, including Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP), a registered state party which he formerly headed.

According to him, along with 37 other candidates, he was declared as official candidate of ZPM in the 2018 Assembly polls.

All the 38 candidates have to contest as independents as the ZPM has not obtained registration at the time of filing nominations, which was a normal procedure, he said.

The IPS officer-turned-politician also claimed that he did not defect to any other party nor violated the anti-defection law or the 10th schedule of the Constitution.

In the last Assembly polls, Lalduhoma was elected from Aizawl West-I seat and a Congress bastion Serchhip seat, where he ousted his giant rival former chief minister and state Congress president Lal Thanhawla.

Later, he vacated his Aizawl West-I seat, which was won by the ruling MNF in the Assembly bypolls held in April last year.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in