The newly elected 19 councilors of Aizawl Municipal Corporation (AMC) were sworn in on Monday.

Aizawl district magistrate R. Lalramnghaka administered the oath of office to the newly elected councilors at a function held at the municipal office.

Lalrinenga Sailo, a Mizo National Front (MNF) nominee from ward-I was elected as the mayor of the municipality, while ward XII councillor R. Thanglura of MNF was elected deputy mayor.

Four councillors Lalringliana, Laltlanzova Khiangte, B. Lalawmpuii and H. Zonunsanga, all from MNF were nominated as executive councillors by the mayor.

In the AMC polls held on February 16, the ruling MNF won a simple majority by bagging 11 out of 19 seats, while main opposition party Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) bagged 6 and Congress won 2.

The BJP which contested 9 seats drew blank. Of the 19 seats, 6 seats (33 %) is reserved for women and the ZPM won five of the reserved seats while MNF took one.

With two women candidates winning the general seat, the total number of women councilors in the 19-member municipal is 8.

The AMC was established in 2010 under the Mizoram Municipalities Act, 2007.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by deputy chief minister Tawnluia, who also holds the urban development and poverty alleviation portfolio and other ministers, including health minister R. Lalthangliana.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: