Vincent H Pala
Vincent H Pala. File photo

All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Sonia Gandhi has appointed Shillong MP and former Union minister Vincent H Pala as the Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president.

This has been confirmed by AICC secretary KC Venugopal in a press statement.

Vincent H Pala will replace outgoing MPCC president Dr Celestine Lyngdoh.

The “Congress president has appointed Vincent H Pala, MP as the president of Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee with immediate effect,” Venugopal said in the statement.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi also appointed three party leaders including two MLAs as new working presidents of the Meghalaya Congress with immediate effect.

The new working presidents of the Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) are – former education minister and East Shillong MLA Ampareen Lyngdoh; Mendipathar MLA Marthon Sangma and James Lyngdoh.

“The party appreciates the contributions of outgoing PCC president Dr Celestine Lyngdoh,” the statement said.

Ampareen Lyngdoh has been relieved from her current party post as an All India Congress Committee (AICC) secretary, Venugopal said in the statement.

Rajasthan Congress leader and former Union minister Sachin Pilot tweeted:  “Congratulations to Shri Vincent H. Pala ji on being appointment as President, Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee. I also extend my best wishes to the newly appointed Working Presidents of Meghalaya Congress.”

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: