Image courtesy:

Hopewell Elias Secondary School from Meghalaya won the U-17 Boy’s title of the 59th Subroto Cup football tournament defeating Bangladesh 1-0 in the final on Tuesday.

The school from Shillong played against Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Prothishtan (BKSP) in the final at Dr Ambedkar Stadium in New Delhi.

Sangti Janai scored for his team, the only goal that helped the school from Meghalaya lift the trophy.

The team from Meghalaya took home a sum of Rs 4, 00,000 and BKSP, as runners-up got a prize money of Rs 2, 50,000.

The Best Goalkeeper award went to Wanteilang Malngiang of Hopewel Elias Higher Secondary School, Meghalaya.

He received a cash award of Rs 50,000, while Sangti Janai was adjudged the Best Player carrying cash award of Rs 50,000.

Bobby L Nongbet of Hopewell Elias Higher Secondary School, Meghalaya was adjudged best coach with a cash award of Rs 15,000.

Hopewel Elias Higher Secondary School was also adjudged as the best school with a cash award of Rs 25,000.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.