Three-time United Democratic Party (UDP) legislator, Metbah Lyngdoh was elected as the party’s new president on Wednesday.

Recommended by the nomination committee, Lyngdoh’s name as president was approved by the general council of the party held at the residence of former president late Dr Donkupar Roy.

Lyngdoh is the third UDP president and he succeeds late Dr Donkupar Roy.

ALSO READ: Meghalaya Assembly speaker Donkupar Roy passes away at 65

The first president of the UDP was former chief minister late EK Mawlong from 1997 to 2004.

Late Dr Donkupar took over as the second president from 2004 till his death on July 28 earlier this year.

Lyngdoh is the UDP MLA from Mairang.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.